Cookie Concoction

Because I work in an office, bringing in baked goods brings smiles to melancholy Monday faces. I’m not gonna lie – my fridge is full of condiments, but somehow I scrounged up the ingredients to make a double batch of triple chocolate chip cookies. I had to use brown sugar and just a touch of white sugar, so the end result was a rather dark-looking cookie, but chewiness was above-par and flavour was perfect. Rather than using my typical milk chocolate chips, I chopped up a giant Dairy Milk bar for added yummyness (and threw in a handful of chopped white and dark chocolate) I think they were appreciated, especially when I had several workers stop by my cubicle, “Rumor has it, you made cookies,” the answer is always yes, and yes, you may have one. When the supply dwindles the office becomes a battlefield – it’s every man for himself until the last cookie has been digested (half joking, half serious)
On a side note, I need to buy some new sprinkles and cupcake liners – my stock is running low… embarrassingly low.

P.S. Check out my shiny new flickr page! And keep checkin’ cause I’ll be updating it with my confection creations! I’ve got about 3 years worth of pics to upload. (Yipee!)

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies… EVER (I promise)
Makes 18 cookies

1 cup all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt (if you use margarine or salted butter, you can omit this)
1/2 cup butter or margarine (quite honestly I prefer margarine for these!)
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (please use the real stuff!)
1 cup milk chocolate chips (or a variation… and I always add an extra handful)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees – now my oven is extremely temperamental and has hot spots (boo) so I bake these at about 330 degrees and keep a close eye on ’em. Sift together dry ingredients in a small bowl and set aside. Either by a hand or mixer, cream butter and sugars. Mix on medium for a minute or two until the mixture is light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla extract, mix until combined. Add in the dry ingredients and mix the cookie dough until everything is incorporated. Fold in chocolate chips or chunks. Spoon a small dollop of dough onto parchment covered cookie sheets. Bake cookies 10 – 12 minutes. Cool and transfer to wire rack. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

