Frosting & Fondant


One of my favourite celebrations each year are my friend’s birthday. This always gives me a chance to get creative and make something personalized and fun. Although my best friend’s birthday isn’t for another month, she’s already asked if I could make her an exciting cake.
My first major fondant project was a rock-climbing influenced, triple-tiered cake. My proudest moment was the actual cakes themselves. There was easily 2 1/2 pounds of butter. Bottom layer was butter cake with vanilla buttercream, second layer was a chocolate cake with dark chocolate ganache and the top layer was a coconut cake with white chocolate ganache… all slathered with an even layer of butter cream to help the fondant adhere. I had worked with fondant before (on two other occasions) so I’m no expert. We rolled out about 10 different colours and 8 hours later were left with a really fun result. Everyone loved it. (Pictures will be posted soon!) I can’t wait to make more cakes with fondant, it’s a lot of fun and the only way to master it, is to keep experimenting in my kitchen laboratory.
So back to my pals cake – it wasn’t really necessary for me to ask what she wanted – I’ve know this gal forever, but just for fun we discussed our possibilities… Turquoise, brown, pink, bows… all cutesy, girly stuff. This is will a fun cake to make, I can’t wait!
And just a piece of delicious news – I found the perfect chocolate frosting recipe (just a simple ganache) but it tastes amazing and when I whip it up in my mixer for a couple minutes the texture if fabulous. I get to test out this recipe at the office on Friday. To be honest I don’t think I have a choice, since our first monthly meeting I’ve assumed the role of the baked goods provider. I’m quite fond of the title myself.

Whipped Chocolate Ganache Frosting

8 ounces dark chocolate (70% cocoa solids)
1 cup heavy cream (35%)
1 teaspoon espresso powder (found this stuff at William Sonoma – great for baking!)

Chop chocolate, place in glass bowl and set aside. Heat cream in a saucepan over medium heat, when the mixture begins to bubble, remove from heat and pour over chocolate. Let stand for 5 minutes. Add espresso powder and stir mixture with a whisk until smooth. Place in fridge for about 30 minutes – 1 hour. Using a mixer, whip ganache until peaks begin to form. Use immediately and serve on cupcakes or anything really!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

