Yonge & Eglinton Adventure: Kale


Today I had the pleasure of visiting the vegan/vegetarian/macrobiotic restaurant called Kale. It’s located in the heart of Yonge and Eglinton. I am not overly picky with food and I am by no means vegan or a vegetarian, but I do enjoy eating healthy so thought I’d try it out. The setup is very minimalist – there’s a small salad/hot food bar with plates or take out trays to fill. Once you’ve selected a spread of yummy things to eat, it’s now time to pay, which is the worst part because it can be rather pricey (for a small take-out sized container that wasn’t completely full, I paid over $9) On the contrary, you are paying for organic foods prepared with healthy ingredients.

I tried a little bit of everything: a carrot salad, ratatouille, tomato-based pasta, quinoa salad, and a cabbage salad. All were quite delicious (with the exception of the extremely bland ratatouille) I needed a little extra salt, but I am a sodium fiend. I can’t say this will be a regular lunch spot, as I usually pack something from home, but it’s a nice healthy treat once in awhile. I would definitely recommend this for a quick lunch – beats high calorie fast food any day!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

