Best Buttercream


Another weekend has come and gone… and unfortunately this particular week has started off on the wrong path. I have been burdened with an awful/annoying cough. This constant tickle in the back of my throat is driving me crazy. I can barely get through a sentence without hacking like a emphysema victim. (so very wrong to say)

Aside from my minor misfortune, this weekend was very productive. I bathed my cat with few battle wounds, and in between made some awesome treats. The first was a birthday cake for my BFF, I wanted something simple but fun. I opted for a two-layer cake. The bottom was vanilla cake with vanilla bean buttercream, this was topped with a chocolate-hazelnut filled chocolate cake. Everything was then topped with more vanilla bean buttercream and a thin layer of turquoise fondant. A few touches of some brown and I was left with a cute little birthday cake. My next project was another birthday treat, but this time cupcakes… the special request: chocolate. After preparing some plain ol’ chocolate fudge cupcakes, I cut a little hole in the top of each. This hole was then filled with a generous spoonful of nutella. This was followed by a lavender coloured vanilla buttercream, some gold leaf and a chocolate heart. Hope Jackie’s mom likes ‘em! Cupcake recipe can be found here: http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/devils-food-cupcakes-book

P.S. Happy Birthday to my BFF Krit!

Best Vanilla Buttercream
Adapted from Alton Brown

1 cup unsalted butter
1 egg
1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste
4 cups icing sugar

Mix butter with whisk attachment for 2 minutes – add egg and mix on medium speed for one minute. Add vanilla bean paste and mix until combined. Slowly add icing sugar – once mixture has come together, whip on medium high for 2 minutes or until it has reached desired consistency. Use immediately or store in fridge/freezer for later use. Feel free to add some food colouring!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

