Céad Míle Fáilte!


Happy Belated St. Patrick’s Day! Although I wouldn’t receive the award for the most St. Patty’s day spirit, I try to celebrate each year. My father’s side is of Irish decent – we have family there and although I’ve never been, I plan to one day soon (Definitely have a place to stay, so why not!?) I had to work the next day, so I didn’t want to be too extreme with my drinking habits… instead I opted for something better… an irish feast! I prepared a delicious irish stew with roasted vegetables and lamb AND a loaf of soda bread. It was extraordinary and I felt rather excited that the stew had Guinness in it. And of course, earlier in the day I brought a small batch of green cupcakes to work, with milk chocolate buttercream and some gold leaf… I know I go slightly overboard with gold leaf, but how could I resist on such a day. Irish stew recipe can be found here: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/food-network-kitchens/roasted-root-vegetable-irish-lamb-stew-recipe/index.html and the soda bread recipe is here! http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/ina-garten/irish-soda-bread-recipe/index.html I omitted the sugar, zest and currants – added some extra salt and pepper.

The true festivities began Friday – my guy friend had a St. Patty’s day party and although it was a couple days late there was not a lack of debauchery.

Thursday evening I ventured off to Oakville for a visit to my favourite little place – Oliver and Bonacini Café Grill. This place is great… You can buy bubbly by the glass and their quiche is beyond anything I’ve ever tasted. The best part is it’s reasonably priced and has a wicked menu. I got a burger with a side of spinach salad. It was ok. Normally I hold this place to a high regard, and it was a delicious meal, but I’ve had better.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Céad Míle Fáilte!

  1. I was so so jealous when I read about your Irish feast on facebook.
    I’ve never been to Oliver and Bonacini. I’ll have to check it out when I am in Oakville next!

Leave a Reply

