Iron Cupcake: Afternoon Delight

So first thing on today’s agenda – Iron Cupcake. I had been anticipating this event for the past month – I made oodles of batches of cupcakes infused with coffee and chocolate and chai spice and … it was fun! Sunday was the actual event, so Saturday evening at 11 pm I started to prepare my cupcakes to ensure freshness. I woke up early Sunday morning to prepare ganache (ended up running out and having to prepare some on-the-spot ganache too!) In the end I was left with rich chocolate cupcakes, filled with coffee cream and topped with mocha ganache and toffee bits. I called it ‘Afternoon Delight’. But the fun didn’t stop there… I had to decide on my ‘presentation’ and what is a delightful pairing for coffee? Well, let’s ask our essperts Tim Hortons… it’s doughnuts! So I wanted to prepare some fresh doughnuts from scratch for my display and that’s just what I did.


The doughnut making itself was another story and a really delicious one, at that. I made an array of toppings: chocolate ganache, a plain sugary glaze, and cinnamon sugar. They turned out great and tasted even better. Doughnut making sounds somewhat daunting with heating oil and having to fry up the pastry, but it’s quite simple and with a wee bit of patience the end result is rather satisfying. HIGHLY recommend it. And what about a recipe? I used Giada De Laurentis’ pizza dough idea – just purchased some homemade pizza dough, cut out a doughnut shape, fried it on each side for 45 seconds and then sprinkled/dipped into lots of wonderful toppings. Want all the details? Find ’em here: http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/italian-doughnuts-recipe/index.html
So how did the contest go? It was tough! Full of cupcake enthusiasts with intensity in their eyes! Sugary intensity! All in all the event had a great turn out – I was somewhat disappointed with the end results… firstly because I didn’t win and secondly because I had no feedback on my Afternoon Delight, but we had a lovely time anyways. Check out my pic, courtesy of the coolest dude ever… my male equiv. Bran Gray. Here’s my recipe:

Martha’s Devil’s Food Cupcakes (Found here: http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/devils-food-cupcakes-book)

Coffee Cream Cupcake Filling

1 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup icing sugar
1 tablespoon espresso powder

Whip cream with mixer until it begins to thicken, slowly add espresso powder and sugar. Whip until stiff peaks form, store in fridge until ready for use. Attach piping bag with large round tip – cut out cupcake centers with a paring knife and fill with cream mixture.

Mocha Ganache
Adapted from Martha Stewart’s Chocolate Ganache Frosting Recipe

1 pound bittersweet chocolate – spurge and get the good stuff
2 1/3 cup heavy cream
1/4 cup corn syrup
1 tablespoon espresso powder

Chop chocolate, place in glass bowl and set aside. Over medium heat, measure cream and corn syrup in a saucepan. Once mixture begins to simmer, remove from heat and pour over chocolate. Let stand for 5 minutes, then add espresso powder and whisk until mixture is smooth. Refrigerate mixture, checking and stirring every 10 minutes until it has reached desired consistency. Pipe onto cream filled cupcakes – decorate with toffee bits, a dusting of cocoa powder or a chocolate covered espresso bean.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

