A Sweet Mission

Today I shall skip the typical ‘baking project’ post and instead get down to what’s really important: eating. Today during lunch hour I needed to visit my local kitchen store for some supplies and on the way found myself wandering into a couple bakeries… The first being a local favourite – The Cupcake Shoppe and the second, a new addition to the neighborhood – Jedd’s Frozen Custard Patisserie Café.
I am not overly fond of the Cupcake Shoppe. I really appreciate that you can see the bakers diligently icing cupcakes but none of them ever seem overly enthused about the whole idea, plus I find their cake to be a little too dense and dry for me. However, their Swiss meringue buttercream is perfect – the right amount of sweetness and light as air. I picked up 3 cupcakes: cookie dough, vanilla with vanilla buttercream and lemon. I got the lemon for myself – which was pretty good… nothing fabulous about this one, but the flavour wasn’t that over-powering, which is good for lil’ lemon loves… but I like BIG lemon flavour.
And then there was Jedd’s… upon entry I was greeted by an extremely friendly man who I will assume is the owner. Immediately I was forced to try their frozen French vanilla custard, and I really wasn’t about to protest a free sample, which I would like to add was ‘out-of-this-world-fucking-delicious’. Sorry for my curse words, but if you know me, I have the mouth of a sailor… Anyways, they had a few yummy looking pastries, so I grabbed a couple maracons and a pain au chocolat (my favourite pastry… ever) The macarons were… okay. I had the chocolate, which wasn’t ‘chocolate-y’ enough, and then I had a caramel, which was fabulous – a sticky and sweet homemade caramel sandwiched between two light and chewy meringue discs. Jedd’s doesn’t do justice on La Bambouche macarons, but they get an E for effort. So at about this point in the day I’m buzzing on sugar, because this morning after breakfast I pounded half a box of chocolate covered almonds (damn those cute kids) But there’s still a pain au chocolat looming in the background, waiting to be devoured. Best I’ve ever had (while in Canada) The croissant was buttery, rich and flakey and the chocolate inside was a perfect balance of sweetness – although I wish there could have been more (I’m greedy!) 
If you haven’t already, check out the websites for the two places mentioned above, or better yet, come down to Yonge and Eglinton and sample some for yourself! http://jeddsfrozencustard.com/ AND http://www.thecupcakeshoppe.ca/welcome.htm

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

