First order of business, this photo is pretty old… from college, but it sums up the following: I have barely been able to contain my excitement. Tonight marks the beginning of a journey – one that involves hard work, dedication and lots of sweets. At 6:30 this evening, I will trek downtown Toronto and attend an information session at George Brown, more specifically, for their baking arts program. You know what this means!? I get to go back to school… for baking! It’s been a long time coming, and don’t get me wrong, I wouldn’t for a second reconsider my initial post secondary experience. I took advertising at Sheridan and the knowledge and experience I received in those 3 years was extremely valuable and essential for my future endeavors. Because not only will I know how to bake like a champ, but I can also sell myself during the process. Why specialize in one industry, when I can combine two? I’m a package deal, baby.

So in the beginning I’ll take things slow – one class per week at night for the next three months. This is an introduction – a prerequisite for the rest of the course, but once this baby is complete, I get to start taking specialized classes for breads, chocolate, pastries, etc. If there’s one thing I love its learning – it’s infinite and keeps me on my toes. I want to take in as much as possible because my brain is spongy and ultra absorbent. While I’m there, I’ll get a chance to work in professional kitchens with professionals! So exciting and awesome. So what do I want out of this? Besides expanding my skill set, I get to learn the ‘method’. I can already predict my impatience settling in – I’ll straight up confess that I’m guilty of not measuring my ingredients perfectly… and sometimes I take short cuts… so it’s time to learn how to do things the right way. At the same time I’m a biased baker – I only tackle projects that appeal to me… and I definitely need to brush up on pastry making abilities.

So I guess that means my blog will have some new exciting bits of info – any helpful pointers from baking class, shall be shared… along with my general chit chat about the overall experience. I can’t wait to get into a kitchen, meet my fellow classmates and even more exciting, my professors. Wish me luck!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “

  1. I look forward to many delicious experiments!

Leave a Reply

